RSS

By The Numbers – #3

07 Feb

I left you hanging for quite awhile I realized – so two quick ‘By The Numbers’ posts in a row.

Today I grocery shopped.  I spent $83.82.

I bought the following fruits/veggies:

4 pints strawberries, frozen corn, frozen blueberries, orange juice, carrots, portobella mushrooms, a bag of golden delicious apples, blueberries, blackberries, a mango, a bunch of bananas, apple juice, multi-color pepper pack, seedless baby watermelon

this week's fruit and veggies

this week’s fruit and veggies

That’s 14 varieties.  I would estimate that it is almost 70 servings of fruits and veggies.  It should last us a week.

Those ingredients cost me:  $24.90

Per serving that amounts to $.36 – that’s CRAZY TALK!

That’s cheaper than a candy bar at the concession stand – no WAY!

Notes:  none of those are organic and I shop at Aldi (and if you don’t, it’s your fault not mine)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 7, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “By The Numbers – #3

  1. Jodi Moriarty

    February 7, 2013 at 6:55 pm

    My mother-in-law says it is more expensive to eat healthy. I don’t think that has to be true and you just helped confirm my belief. Smart shopping, meal planning & cooking at home is usually much more healthy and much less expensive than fast food, take out and vending machines.

     
    • KSeed

      February 8, 2013 at 1:21 am

      I don’t mean to call your mother-in-law lazy – but I usually attribute this type of thinking to laziness. It takes more work to cook and plan and shop – but it certainly doesn’t have to be more expensive.

       

Leave a Reply

 
