RSS

By the numbers – Past and Present

14 Jan

PAST

A few thoughts about last year’s numbers surrounding The Great Purge.

My first thought is – how in the world does our household of five compare to the ‘average’ household?             Do others keep track of expenses like this?  Is our spending reasonable?

I compared our spending to a chart published by the USDA that shows prices by person, by age based on a low-budget to liberal spending allowance.  According to this chart, we are living a moderate spending allowance on food.

Considering that we eat out less than once a week for dinner and my husband works from home so we eat out for lunch one or two days a week only – and my kids pack their lunches to school — I’m going to call this chart unrealistic.  (but interested in your opinions!)

Based on last year’s numbers: we spend about $1225 a month of all food (groceries and eating out).  

By week, we spend about $280 per week.

I’m interested if there are other ‘numbers’ people out there who track their expenses to this detail.  Real peers who can share with me if what I’m spending is reasonable.

PRESENT

Since the start of the year, we have spent $143.82 on groceries and $131.55 eating out.

That’s from January 1st through January 9th.

But, during those 10 days, we have eaten the equivalent of 150 meals = 5 people x 3 meals per day x 10 days.

So $275.37 / 150 meals = $1.84 per person / per meal

NOT BAD!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “By the numbers – Past and Present

  1. Susie Weaver

    January 15, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    Hey, Kristin – I figured mine out and I am fairly close to you. I spent $63.23 eating out and $121.92 on groceries the first 10 days that is for 4 of us. Keep in mind though that some of the groceries are not actually food…cleaning supplies, tiolet paper, tampons, shampoo – all that good stuff adds up. I have no ideas how much I actually spent on food the first 10 days of the year. I also eat lunch out 3-4 days and have to get my caffine fix in the morning on the way to work:)

     
  2. Susie Weaver

    January 15, 2013 at 3:15 pm

    Oh wait that is not entirely accurate, the kids eat at school. I put $120 a month in the lunch account. So that averages to $2 a day per kid for lunch, so $6 a day for lunches…that is alot! I might have to start packing!

     
    • KSeed

      January 15, 2013 at 6:49 pm

      Thanks for sharing Susie. If I added right, that means your first 10 day costs were $305.15 (with school lunches). That is right about where we are. It’s really interesting to see where grocery/food money goes when you start keeping track.

      I wonder if others will share – so that we can see if we’re ‘normal’!

       
      • susie

        January 15, 2013 at 11:52 pm

        It is interesting. I need to figure how much is non-food items. I know I bought tiolet paper, shampoo, conditioner, hair spray, deodarant in one of those grocercy bills. On another note…we will have to get together sometime, I havent talked to you forever!

         

Leave a Reply

 
