RSS

I’m Scared…..

31 May

Summer break has arrived.  

I’ve compiled the list of camps to attend, places to visit and free things to do.  

We are starting to get into a daily routine, even if the day doesn’t start until after 9:00 am.

One of the new things I’m trying to implement is help with dinner from one of the kids.  They have all been very helpful with making hot breakfasts.  They can make homemade pancakes, homemade waffles, scrambled eggs and a few other items with just a bit of supervision.

But, when it comes to dinner, they aren’t much help.  So, the other night is was my older son’s turn to help out.  I was making a bunch of stuff that the kids would either complain about or not eat.  You know – real grown-up food.  It was mainly items from our CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) weekly basket.  I thought by getting him involved I might have better success getting him to try things (and he’s the good eater….)

He cut onions and mushrooms into slices with the large 8 inch chef’s knife.  He learned how to de-vein kale and chop it for wilting.  He washed the lettuce in the salad spinner and cut items for salad.  

And about 1/3 of the way through, he asked a great question.  “What are we going to do with all these scraps?”  Of course, I replied “throw them in the trash”.  And as it was coming out of my mouth, I realized I was busted.  

Why don’t we compost?  

And that’s when I figured it out.  We don’t compost because I’m scared.  We live in a covenant driven neighborhood – maybe it’s not allowed?  What if it stinks?  What if it’s hard?  What if it looks awful and causes me and husband and to fight?  What if we don’t need all the soil it will produce?  What if it leaks and gets rotten?  and on and on….

Surely there are a dozen more what ifs that exist.  I’m scared.

So, I’ve been keeping track.  You may remember that I buy 15-20 fresh fruits and veggies a week.  I do recycle any packaging, but I don’t compost any waste.  We use 4 dozen eggs a week – that’s 4 dozen egg shells…  We drink a least a pot of coffee daily – coffee grounds…  Dryer lint…. And on and on and on…..

 

Image

Here’s what I learned: I need your help.  Educate me so that I can quit being scared and start composting.

 

 
16 Comments

Posted by on May 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “I’m Scared…..

  1. Julie G

    May 31, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    You go through 4 dozen eggs–holy schmoly, that’s a lot of cooking! Oh and, composting is a piece of cake.

     
    • KSeed

      June 1, 2012 at 1:07 pm

      4 dozen! Crazy huh! I guess it must be easy – because that’s what everyone is saying. Someone posted their cute little stainless steel countertop compost collector and that alone may be reason enough for me to start! 🙂

       
  2. inherchucks

    May 31, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    My family and recently started a garden and decided to begin a compost pile. Here is a link to my post where I suggest some cool devices that will help with the process and minimize stench…
    http://inherchucks.com/2012/01/16/how-is-my-garden-growing/.

    And if you ever want to feature your CSA goodies…come and link up to my weekly CSA link party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/31/whats-in-the-box-28/

     
    • KSeed

      June 1, 2012 at 1:06 pm

      I love your little stainless steel countertop composter! 🙂 That alone is reason to start composting! I’m going to start following your blog about your CSA too! We might get kohlrabi this week – and I’m going to need some advice!

       
  3. Tammy

    June 1, 2012 at 3:49 am

    It won’t smell if you don’t put meat and dairy in it. I keep a bucket under the sink and fill it with scraps and even it doesn’t smell.

     
    • KSeed

      June 1, 2012 at 1:03 pm

      Interesting tips! I didn’t know you could put meat in it. It’ll be easy to put dairy in it. Thanks for the advice.

       
      • Tammy

        June 1, 2012 at 3:58 pm

        I hope you didn’t misunderstand. Don’t put meat or dairy in it.

         
      • KSeed

        June 1, 2012 at 5:06 pm

        I did misunderstand. Thanks for clarifying!

         
  4. The Snail of Happiness

    June 1, 2012 at 11:42 am

    You can compost in the soil – this way you won’t have a smelly heap or bin. Dig a hole, put the waste in, cover with cardboard or shredded paper and then a layer of soil. If you have a decent sized hole you can keep doing this in layers for ages and you can cover it with a board so no one falls into it! You can also do this in small holes and then plant squashes or beans directly into them… they love to grow in decomposing stuff. As the compost rots down, worms will distribute it into the soil so if you don’t want to, you don’t need to handle it. Of course, you can dig it out later and spread it on your garden.
    Oh, and you can never have too much compost!

     
    • KSeed

      June 1, 2012 at 1:05 pm

      No way! It can compost under ground! This is a suggestion I will have to save until my kids are gone. Our backyard is a soccer field, baseball diamond and football field – so I better wait to dig holes in the ground! Thanks for the advice. I’ll keep you posted with my progress!

       
      • The Snail of Happiness

        June 1, 2012 at 1:54 pm

        Yes, don’t lose the kids in the compost! Even so you can still compost a bit this way by putting kitchen waste and paper direct into any holes you plant squash or beans into in your veg patch.

         
  5. Tara

    June 14, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    We bought a turning compost at SAMs. It’s quite addictive, lie recycling. It’s really pretty easy.

     
  6. Ellen Hurd

    March 7, 2013 at 11:31 pm

    I compost all year around and have for a very long time. I do garden and use it when I can. Most of the time I just let it rot in the yard with no smell at all. I do have a bin we built out of recycled wooden pallets and I am sure the critters & wildlife help to stir it up to, but mainly I just keep a stainless steel composter on top of my stove and feed it when I have the compostable scraps. I also keep it lined to hold the liquids that sometimes develope and use those same kind of pooper scooper bags made out of corn starch that asre 100% recycleable and use those for really cheap next to nothing or you can buy bags at the container store for the same thing. I find it better to use the pooper ones as they are not so expensive and you can find them on clearance or sale at TJ Maxx, Marshalls, or homegoods stores. I love to save money on anything I can and it amazes me how many things are our there that are the same only packaged diferently or renamed. You will become a pro in no time. You also feel better about doing it as well! Good LUCK!!!!!

     
    • KSeed

      March 9, 2013 at 4:02 pm

      I would love to have a cute stainless steel composter on my counter-top. I have also found a local Indy company called Mama Earth Compost – who will come weekly or bi-weekly and take your composting scraps for you. I may try that. Or, I’m going to get over this fear of composting. I CAN DO IT!

       
      • Ellen Hurd

        March 10, 2013 at 3:47 am

        If you can put trash in a trash can then you can compost! It really is so simple. First you have to know what can go in one and what not to put in them. I put all fruits & vegatable scraps, coffee grounds, tea bags, paper plates with no coating on them, in door house plants clippings, egg shells, peanut shells, lint from my dryer, I cut my husbands hair and will sometimes put it in the inside canister, once it gets full I take it out to the outside compost and then start over inside. Outside I put weeds with no seeds, leaves, grass clippings, when my garden has been harvested I take the plant clippings and add those. Some people have 2 going at all times. one that you are adding to and one that is in full composting mode which turning it hurries up the process. I do not put food scraps, meat, or animal feces in it. Do some google or you tube video search on the subject. I bet you will find it to so easy you had wished you started years ago. The kids love to help to. Good Luck!

         

Leave a Reply

 
