RSS

I’m Loved

16 May

When I was in college, my mom was in the hospital having surgery.  To pass the time, she copied some of her most used recipes onto note cards and gave them to me in an index card box.  It was blue and plastic.

I lived in a dorm and had no access to a kitchen.  I hadn’t even cooked much with my mom growing up.  There are a few classic pictures of me licking the beaters and such while making cookies or cake.  But, my main kitchen job was unloading and loading the dishwasher.

I cook much differently than both my grandmas and my mother.  Mainly, I cook less casseroles and ‘comfort food’.  We eat more fish and less fish sticks. Basically the difference between cooking in the 60s, 70s and 80s and cooking today.

But, there are definitely go-to recipes from that box.

I’ve belonged to a playgroup/coffee group for ten years.  We take turns hosting on Tuesday mornings.  I ALWAYS make banana bread.  My mom’s, and I assume Grandma’s, recipe. I don’t need to use the recipe card anymore – the recipe is memorized.   But I get it out every time anyway.

It’s a good thing I don’t need it – because this is what it looks like.Image

We cook for others to feed them – mind, body and soul.

This recipe reminds me every time – I’m loved.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “I’m Loved

  1. Patty

    May 17, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    Your entry tugged at my heart, Kristin! This one makes me think about my grandma’s chicken and dumplings. Every birthday I would request that meal. I have tried to duplicate…just not the same. I should have asked her to write it down for me but just never thought about it. You are lucky to have the worn recipe cards. So many meals that form wonderful memories and traditions…I miss my grandma.

     
    • KSeed

      May 24, 2012 at 3:44 pm

      I really wish I had my mom take a picture of one of her recipe cards. She makes homemade red velvet cake with a cooked icing for all of our birthdays. That recipe calls for a whole bottle of red food coloring. You can only imagine what that recipe card looks like. I would love to have it! I’m glad you like this post – I miss my grandma too!

       
  2. Kathleen Goff

    June 1, 2012 at 2:17 am

    Hi Kristen. I especially liked this blog regarding the worn, cherished recipe card. I, too, have my favorite recipe cards written by my mother and many cards from Bob’s mother, too. Every time I get them out……I go back in time and the memories flow. All of them are PRICELESS!

     
    • KSeed

      June 1, 2012 at 1:01 pm

      Thanks for sharing your story too! In the digital age, I now do lots of searches for ingredients I have on hand and look for recipes that will work. But, my kids have all asked if they can have recipes to take to school when they go to college – too cute! Those will definitely be handwritten. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
