RSS

Let’s Be Honest

26 Apr

I’ve been struggling with my latest post about packing the cooler full of healthy items.  

“Why?” – you ask.

Well, it seems a bit misleading – a bit ‘high and mighty’.  It implies we are the epitome of health around this house.  And, although I PUSH HARD the saying ‘something healthy first’, I think I’m giving the impression that we aren’t sweets or junk food eaters around here.  

So, I feel the need to come clean.  Honestly, almost weekly there is a batch of homemade chocolate chip cookies made in this house.  And, bad things are happening too.  I use real butter.  I use the ice cream scoop to make them (bigger) rather than my cookie scoop (tiny!).

Image

At about four dozen per batch, that comes to 48 cookies per week * 52 weeks * 10 years or so – you get the picture.  Tens of thousands of cookies consumed!

But it doesn’t stop at that.  Ask Grandma (or maybe more accurately Grandpa) and they’ll tell you that my kids’ favorite cookies, even beating out Grandma’s homemade chocolate chips, are the “Black Cookie”.  The infamous – the Oreo.  

Image

We are no better, and arguably worse, than any other family when it comes to cookie consumption.

What Have I Learned –

1 – homemade cookies are easier to make the more often you make them (the recipe is memorized)

2 – homemade cookies seem healthier than store bought (no scientific evidence to prove this, but I can pronounce and purchase myself all the ingredients in them) 

3 – a cookie now and then – or even a couple dozen every week – when balanced out with a healthy dose of fruits and veggies – doesn’t make me feel bad

4 – It feels best to Be Honest!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
