RSS

Fruits and Veggies

08 Mar

You can’t read much anymore – from a fashion magazine to the local newspaper – without seeing something about eating more fruits and veggies.  These articles all give good suggestions, but I think that they miss the two most important points:

1) you almost HAVE to eat at home more to incorporate more fruits and veggies – really, how often do you see a side of broccoli as a choice on a restaurant menu (especially fast food)

2) you have to start at the grocery store; you can’t wait until mealtime to think about adding an additional fruit or veggie to a meal – it’s too late – you don’t have enough around

I offer two easy suggestions here:

1) start counting the number of different kinds of fruits and veggies that you put in your cart during a weekly grocery trip;  when I first started this trick, I typically had seven to nine.  Usually they were 1- bananas 2- apples 3- strawberries 4- orange juice 5- broccoli 6- frozen corn and a couple more here or there based on the season.

Now, I typically have 18-20.  I’m convinced it’s just because I’m paying more attention.  Today it was 1- apples 2- strawberries 3- orange juice 4- cranberry juice 5- dried cranberries 6- tomatoes 7- grape tomatoes 8- grapes 9- pineapple 10- watermelon 11- frozen corn 12- frozen green beans 13- cucumber 14- romaine lettuce 15- spinach 16- colored peppers 17- peaches 18- broccoli 19- red onions 20-peaches 21-lemons

2) replace a starch on your plate with a fruit or vegetable, usually in the form of a salad;  my hubby and kids are huge exercisers, but me – not so much; i have found that if I take out the rice or potato or pasta and replace it with a small salad right on my plate, I’m adding typically two servings of vegetables

What have I learned?  COUNT your fruits and veggies, BUT do it as you shop not as you eat

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Fruits and Veggies

  1. wartica

    March 8, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    I totally agree ; it would be nice if places started serving fresh veggies and fruit – on their menus.Until then, I will continue to eat them at home 🙂 Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

     
  2. Penelope Oertel

    March 8, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    Did not know you were blogging. Love it! Keep it up.

     
    • KSeed

      April 11, 2012 at 1:13 am

      Glad you are enjoying it. Thanks!

       
  3. themagicherb

    March 8, 2012 at 5:32 pm

    Your right it is hard to eat so much fruits and veggies when you have a fast paced life but there are options, even for fast food. Subway is always great, especially if you order whole wheat bread and load it with veggies.

    I will start counting at the grocery store though. I never thought to do that but great idea

     
    • KSeed

      April 11, 2012 at 1:13 am

      Are you counting at the grocery store? How is it going? It was 14 for me today.

       

Leave a Reply

 
